Fashion trend: Leopard print

Several months ago (August 2010), I was watching Star Couple Show: Jagiya when before long, I started drooling over MC Kim Won Hee’s leopard print cardigan. Three words kept repeating in my head. “I want that!”

Leopard prints have always gone in and out of fashion, but this is the first time that I ever wanted to wear one myself.  Perhaps it’s an evidence of my ever-growing ahjumma tendencies. But even more likely (I hope) is that it’s the result of having seen so many Korean celebrities wear these leopard prints (called ho-pi “호피” in Korean) this past year. I’ve gathered the photos of stars wearing leopard print clothing in 2010 and 2011. Who wore them the best, and who wore them the worst? And would you wear this trend yourself?


Gong Hyo Jin is not known as a fashionista for nothing.  She led the way, dressed in a leopard print cardigan from Chloe Sevigny for Opening Ceremony at the drama Pasta press conference late 2009.


Most recently, Miss A’s Suzy wore a green leopard print sweater from Egoist on episode 10 of Dream High.


Coincidentally, Brown Eyed Girls’ Ga In wore the same exact sweater earlier on We Got Married… (Ga In became a model for the brand this month.)


…and Rainbow’s Jaekyung wore it to Star King.


Oh Ji Eun wore the yellow version in Smile, Donghae.


Hwang Jung Eum in High Kick Through the Roof


Park Shi Eun in Pure Pumpkin Flower


Hwang Bora in Smile, Mom


Brown Eyed Girls’ Miryo wore a pink leopard print sweater from Jardin de Chouette in Oh Won Bin’s “I Love You and I Love You” music video.


Min Hyo Rin wore the same pink sweater in Actress Butler


…and Chae Jung Ahn in Queen of Reversals.


Lee Chung Ah in Pure Pumpkin Flower


Seo Woo in Flames of Ambition


Yoo In Na was a fan of leopard print sweaters in Secret Garden.


Whereas Kim Sarang decided to go all out in a leopard print dress.


Unfortunately, Yoon Sang Hyun refused to be outdone by his female co-stars.


Hyun Bin was such a huge fan of leopard prints that not only did he wear a leopard print tracksuit in Secret Garden (surely custom-made by an Italian designer)…


…but he got the strange notion that this leopard print shirt looked oh so dandy when he wore it to the press conference for his movie Love Me, Love Me Not.

To answer the question I posed earlier, I guess I personally would wear this trend, for my most recent clothing purchase was a v-neck leopard print sweater. Sigh, I’m such a trend-follower… or just a cougar-wannabe.

This entry was posted in Fashion & Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fashion trend: Leopard print

  1. soluna413 says:

    Awesome post, my dear! I love your fashion posts, they’re a refreshing change to see on a blog that’s centered around k-dramas and the world of k-entertainment. I’m honestly not a big fan of the leopard print, but that’s just ‘cuz it’s not my style. I can’t deny that each one of the celebrities you posted rocked the leopard print much better than I ever could! 🙂

  2. Alyssa says:

    Do you know if you can still buy that green leopard print sweater? I loved it when I saw it on We Got Married and on Dream High! I tried looking on the website, but the language barrier is sort of getting in the way…

  3. kcomments says:

    I don’t like leopard, why would I wear one on my body *goose bump* LOL
    But if I were to choose , it would be your first pic GHJ, bright and shine.

  4. bella says:

    Bienvenidos! Don’t laugh I actually got gray/black leopard tights sent to me from Korea and I rock that thing at the airport. Hey, it’s lined with something to keep me warm…

  5. popz says:

    ahjumma!!

Leave a Reply

