Jung Il Woo’s “Scarecrow”

Jung Il Woo (a.k.a. Mr. Scheduler) took part in singing his own song titled “Scarecrow” (허수아비) for the soundtrack to his drama, 49 Days. I can’t really say he’s a great singer, but there’s something about his husky voice that just soothes you and pulls you in, almost reminiscent of the Korean singer-songwriter legend, Kim Hyung Shik. I’m quite simply in love with his voice right now.


(For the lyrics and english translation to his song “Scarecrow”, see below…)

허수아비
Scarecrow

손끝에 너를 느껴보려 해도
I try to feel you at the tip of my fingers
자꾸 잊는다 매번 잊는다 만질 수도 없단걸
But I forget. I always forget that I can’t touch you.
알고 있는지 내 맘속엔 방 하나 니가 살아서
Do you know? Because you live in the one room of my heart,
다른 누구도 안돼
No one else will do.
기억조차 잃어 온기마저 없어 이젠
Even the memories are lost, even the warmth is gone… now.

난 한발로 서있는 허수아비
I’m a scarecrow standing on one foot
너 없이 맘 저는 슬픈 허수아비
I’m a sad scarecrow, my heart aching without you.
거친 바람 속에서 자꾸 흔들려
In the harsh wind, I keep swaying
내몸이 흩어진데도
Even if my body scatters apart
언젠가 니가 온다면
If you’d come to me some day
난 두팔 벌려 너를 안고 싶어
I want to embrace you with my arms wide open.
I’ll wait for U.
I’ll wait for U.

너의 목소리 흘려 버리려해도
Even when I try to send your voice away,
귀에 맴돌아 자꾸 맴돌아 또 생각나
It lingers in my ears. It keeps lingering and I think of it again,
니가 있던 시간 흐르지 못하게 그 앞을 막아도
So that the time you were here can’t flow away, I block the way.

난 한발로 서있는 허수아비
I’m a scarecrow standing on one foot
너 없이 맘 저는 슬픈 허수아비
I’m a sad scarecrow, my heart aching without you.
거친 바람 속에서 자꾸 흔들려
In the harsh wind, I keep swaying
내몸이 흩어진데도
Even if my body scatters apart
언젠가 니가 온다면
If you’d come to me some day
난 두팔 벌려 너를 안고 싶어
I want to embrace you with my arms wide open.
I’ll wait for U.
I’ll wait for U.

Don’t wanna let you go (let U go) Don’t wanna let you go (let U go)
Don’t wanna let you go (let U go) Don’t wanna let you go (let U go)
못 박힌 듯 숨 멈춘 듯 여기에
As if a nail has pierced me, as if my breath has stopped, here…

그때 못한 말 이제 하는 말 다 늦었겠지만
Words I couldn’t say then, words I’m saying now, though it may be too late
널 사랑해 널 사랑해 My Love
I love you, I love you, My Love
난 한곳만 늘 보는 해바라기
I’m a sunflower that only looks toward one place
너 없는 난 갈곳 없는 재투성이 아이
Without you, I’m an ash-covered child with nowhere to go
거친 바람 속에서 자꾸 흔들려
In the harsh wind, I keep swaying
내몸이 흩어진데도
Even if my body scatters apart
언젠가 니가 온다면
If you’d come to me some day
내 두팔 벌려 너를 안고 싶어.
I want to embrace you with my arms wide open.
I still love you.
I still love you.

Lyrics translated by Blue1004

This entry was posted in K-celebrities, K-dramas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jung Il Woo’s “Scarecrow”

  1. nerdynoona says:

    Nice–thanks for posting! I’m totally loving Jung Il Woo as the scheduler…can’t wait to find out more about his character in coming episodes!

  2. kcomments says:

    This song gives away spoiler a bit, our dear scheduler has heart after all. Checked ep4, loved him when he turned serious and dark..so hawwwwttt hehe, can’t wait. Can’t say he’s great with the song but agree with you, soothing with potential. I’m not sure it’s the vid or the productions, I wish his voice was clearer and not overshadowed by the instruments.

    *whispering after ep4, my pairing preference would be Scheduler/J and K/Y but I’ll be damn if it’s vice versa*

  3. mAddict says:

    Thanks you soooo much for sharing. I feel so sad listening to the song.

  4. Ray says:

    Hey, this song turns out to be actually S song to YK. Match with the rumor about they past relationship/lover. His voice not great, but also not bad, and the most important is, he success to convey the feeling/emotion. And the lyrics… wow… just… wow! Very amazing! have a goosebumps read it.

  5. deedrama says:

    Thanks for posting. May I link your youtube on my blog? I’ll upload it after I get your permission.

    And If I’m not mistaken his song, can I hope that Yi Kyung will end up with scheduler at the end of drama?

    I know it’s kind of ridiculous, but still..

  6. sammi says:

    thanks for posting the song and the lyrics translation.
    I too find JIW’s husky voice strangely addictive.

  7. Softy says:

    Holy cow those are some sad lyrics – but at the same time so romantic…i was so afraid to press play cuz I didn’t want my bubble to burst cuz I got my hopes up – and then I heard it and was relieved – voice – not so painful- kinda soothing and melancholic. Your translations made it more perfect – thanks blue

  8. Pingback: Quickie: Translated Scarecrow Lyrics on Electric Ground « Take Your Korean

Leave a Reply

