Blue’s men edition – “MINE!”

I was talking to a friend about dramas one day, and for every actor she mentioned, I was able to spew back the year that I crushed on him. Finally, she asked, “Who did you NOT crush on?! That might be a shorter list.”

Going through my two men’s edition (here and here) turned out to be a great thing. For one, it’s always nice to walk down memory lane like that. But more importantly, at a total of 35 men, I learned that I did not swoon over as many men as I originally guessed I did. (I thought it would be more liked hundreds!) I’m a woman with standards, yo!

But now it’s my chance to “mine” these men. And you don’t understand what a difficult task this is for me because of how fickle I am. One moment I may declare that a particular actor is God’s gift to mankind, and then just a month later, I may declare that I can’t stand his acting, his voice, the way he talks, the way he walks, the way he looks… umm, you get the idea!

And so I want to make sure that the men that I officially proclaim to be MINE here today will be ones who can stand the test of time. Does he look like he has the genes for balding in the future? Are there any rumors about him that may indicate that he’ll make the headlines anytime soon for a rendez-vous with a prostitute? Does he show signs of turning 느끼해 (neukihae – the phenomenon in which men start looking sleazy as they grow older, which Korean men are particularly prone to)?

This involves exact science. You may wonder, Blue, umm, you do realize that just because you “MINE” them does not REALLY make them yours, right? Well, disillusionment is a scary thing, my friend.

So at first, I aimed to limit my men to my top 5 or so. But who am I kidding? I’m not a psychic! I can’t predict how they’ll change or how my opinion of them will change in the future. And furthermore, there may be many more gems in hiding just waiting to be discovered. Do I have to “mine” them every time a new one appears?

So yes, I decided to take the easy way out. If I’m going to be disillusioned, I may as well be disillusioned all the way, right? Thus, I hereby proclaim that all men on TV (past, present, and future) will be MINE on my command. Lest you think I’m greedy and selfish, oh, I’m far from it. In fact, you all have my permission to admire, drool, and even touch any of my men. But please. Please do not linger. Thank you!

This entry was posted in K-celebrities. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Blue’s men edition – “MINE!”

  1. ditdut says:

    Gah, you fickle girl!!

    One thing I’m wondering tho, who do you think looks more smarmy and sleazy as they get older??

    • blue says:

      Well, among the legitimately middle aged men, I was thinking of Kang Suk Woo and Lee Jong Won (mentioned in my earlier post). Others I can think of at the top of my head are Yoo Dong Geun and Lee Young Ha. All four men were legitimate heartthrobs at one time, but they look like neukihan (I think “sleazy” may be too harsh of a word) ahjussis now. In contrast, men like Chun Ho Jin are aging very well.

      As for the “younger” crowd, Bae Yong Joon stands out to me. Hmm, and many of the first generation idol members (H.O.T., Sechkies, NRG, ClickB, etc) are not aging well either.

  2. Kristal says:

    So unfair! *throws a tantrum*

  3. joonni says:

    You can’t do this! They can’t be claimed because they are all already mine. I have just kept quiet about it all these years but they all know who they belong too.

  4. supah says:

    Well… You’ll never come after MINE… If you don’t know who they are… *creeps away*

  5. caffeinate_me says:

    But but but . . . guys like Jang Dong Geun and Cha Seung Won are aging well. And I even get a hot ahjussi vibe from Kim Gab Soo and I’m pretty sure he’s over 50.

    By the way, laying claim over everyone will just bring you the wrath and ire of the scary scary fangirls (and I’ve only just found out how scary they can be — see Lie to Me posts anywhere). But I salute your bravery. Victory!

  6. mihinikki says:

    Well, I just MINED Kim Hyun Joong yesterday after seeing his new look. And I ain’t giving him back unless he grows his hair long and/or gets a perm again. Seriously, if he had the dark, short do’ in Playful Kiss I mighta been blind to it’s faults, cute though it was.

  7. Elizabennet says:

    I think Cha Seung Won is hotter now than when he is younger. I also think the same for Lee Jung Jae (he looked great in Housemaid) And oddly I don’t think Lee Byung Hun is aged at all (is this man a vampire or what?)

    My all time Korean crush though is an actor who didn’t act in any drama (as far as I know). I love Song Kang Ho – who is so talented and lovable and strangely sexy to me (yeah even Thirst was not enough to turn me off, althought it was a yuccky film). u

  8. Melissa says:

    Jang Geun-suk= Mine!
    Lee Min Ho= MINE!!!

  9. doozy says:

    Does he look like he has the genes for balding in the future?
    Oh man, this had me ROFL! ahhahaha

    • Softy says:

      When I read that line – I was thinking ” wow blue and I think alike” – that was exactly one of the reasons why I broke up with one of my college boyfriends – my gut just told me he was going to have a receding hairline eventually and no matter how good-looking he was, all I could do was stare at that hairline and I swear – it started to recede a little the more I stared at it. The other major factor for breaking up was I liked someone else with a full set of hair who was cuter, taller, and he ended up being my first love 🙂

      As far as I can tell blue, from reading all your posts about these guys, 80% of them I didn’t know by name and some even by face so no competition here – they are all yours. 🙂

  10. Taohua says:

    LOL…those be fighting words! And what about the actors that the drama community has reached a consensus that no one can claim like Yoo Ah-in, Kim Soo-hyun, etc or specific characters like Bidam, Team Park Kyu?

  11. eshi says:

    LOL…hilarious…..if i start claiming my men i wouldn’t be able to watch them in any dramas so i my fandom is strictly upon talent …but i dont know what it is about cha seung won, but man that guy is sexy… and of all the actors i’ve crushed on, hes the only one i would call sexy

Leave a Reply

