Song of the Day: Ha Dong Kyun’s “After the Love” (Updated with Lyrics)

Two dramas dropped. Got addicted to another. It’s a never ending cycle, this addiction!

I recently started (or is it re-started, since last checking out the first episode in January?) a drama known by many names, including Twinkle Twinkle, Shining, and All That Glitters.

Starring Kim Hyun Joo and Lee Yoo Ri as two girls who were switched at birth and have lead two very different lives, the story is pretty unoriginal and rather contrived, an old-school bad girl/good girl drama. But despite so, as characteristic of such dramas, it is pretty freakin’ addicting and makes you die of curiosity to find out what will happen next. In fact, I zipped through it and managed to catch up to the most recent episode (episode 36) within a matter of days, although admittedly I fast-forwarded through scenes and skipped a couple of episodes along the way.

There are several reasons why Twinkle Twinkle really works for me. First, unlike the typical “bad girl, good girl” dramas that exasperate me with how the “good girl” repeatedly falls into the trap set by the “bad girl” and it leads to a pile up of misunderstandings between characters, conflicts here get resolved quickly.

Second, despite the various reactions expressed by the parents in response to their situation, I was at least able to understand where each of them was coming from, even if I did not agree with all of them.

And finally, Kim Suk Hoon and Kim Hyun Joo really make a great pairing. Sure, they don’t have the sizzling chemistry kind or one that makes you feel the fuzzy wuzzy. But perhaps it’s the maturity of their love or the sincere understanding they have for each other. Their portrayal of love appears more “real” to me than being just mere “romance.”

So yes. Twinkle Twinkle is not mind blowing and it won’t change lives. It’s probably a drama that better suits an “ahjumma” taste. But there’s no denying that it is entertaining!

Oh my, such a long spiel to introduce the new “Song of the Day”! As you may have guessed by now, it is a song featured in the Twinkle Twinkle soundtrack- “After the Love” by Ha Dong Kyun. Love this song… enjoy!

“After the Love”

We are broken into pieces after a quarrel from a simple misunderstanding
We can’t turn back around as we got used to the frequent fighting
May our happy memories, crumbled and hidden, not turn into pain
Everything will get erased, even the days we were together
They will just get forgotten like old shoelaces
The remaining time will pass us by
With our backs turned, we will probably live on as if we don’t know each other
Let me go, I’ll let you go
Let me go, I’ll let you go

Let’s release all our remaining memories
Let’s not insist on wishing happiness for each other with another lover
Let’s understand that there are different ways we each erase each other
Everything will get erased, even the days we were together
They will just get forgotten like old shoelaces
The remaining time will pass us by
With our backs turned, we will probably live on as if we don’t know each other
Let me go, I’ll let you go
Let me go, I’ll let you go

Lyrics translated by Blue1004

This entry was posted in K-dramas, K-music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Song of the Day: Ha Dong Kyun’s “After the Love” (Updated with Lyrics)

  1. madzgo says:

    Thanks for the write-up about Twinkle Twinkle aka Sparkling.. The show really has certain charm to it that caught me since the beginning. This is just my 3rd time watching a 50-episode drama but its my 2nd family drama. The other family drama I watched also starred Lee Yoori as the sweet girl protagonist with Lee Jung Jin as the lead male.
    More than the OTP which seems so real, I think the whole cast is quite suited for the roles they’ve been given even the new ones like Kang Dae Bum and the Uncle (played by Park Yoo Chun’s brother).

  2. simplesim says:

    Dear blue, thanks for appearing in soompi. Now things should be heating up as we are so anticipating a wedding and going into home run with 13 eps to go.

  3. nycgrl says:

    Super Fantastic! I was looking for this song everywhere after hearing watching Twinkle Twinkle at my MIL’s house. When was this song released? I swear I heard this years ago or maybe its just Deja Vu. Thanks so much for posting the song & the singer’s name. It became an itch I couldn’t scratch for a week now.

    • blue says:

      Hehe, I’m glad that the mystery about the song became solved for you. As for the song, it was released March of this year, but I agree that something about the song sounds very familiar.

  4. nycgrl says:

    BTW my first time coming on your site & posting above ^ Really love the language & culture series.

  5. kitkatz11 says:

    Thanks Blue. This drama is really flying below radar. Find every episode very interesting with all the twists & turns & human flaws magnified! GR & Editor’s Mum are superb… just luv to hate their characters LOL

Leave a Reply

