Cha Seung Won’s me2day interview

Over the span of two days in June 20 and 21, Sports Seoul conducted an interview with actor Cha Seung Won (Best Love) through his me2day account, a Korean social networking service similar to Twitter.

Of course, there’s the casual nature of the interview itself, but I found it fun that Cha Seung Won actually adopted the speech style of Dokgo Jin in his answers as well (minus his last response).

**********

Sports Seoul: The popularity of Best Love has been explosive. In particular, when a group of young women gathers, all they talk about is about Dokgo Jin. Did you expect this kind of reaction?

Cha Seung Won: Not at all! I did like the character though. After all, he’s an unusual character. He may even appear as an opportunist. I thought of it as an adventure. Keke. After the phone quiz’s “ding dong” scene from episodes 1 and 2 aired, I thought I was able to show that Dokgo Jin was not a bad guy and that there was a cute side to him.

Dokgo Jin captured the heart of female fans with a different appeal from that of male leads in other traditional romantic comedy dramas. Many young stars seem to covet Dokgo Jin’s role. 

I recently saw Kim Hyun Joong impersonate Dokgo Jin on TV. Keke. It feels good that so many people came to love the appealing character.

For the sake of the drama, you shaved off your signature “cow-shaped” mustache. There are many female fans who are saying you look even better. Did you feel upset at all [to shave it off]?

I like it. But there are also fans who don’t. I don’t know what I’m going to do about the mustache after the drama ends, but I do want to grow out my hair. I want to do a melodrama!

Through Best Love, you emerged as the “prince of the romantic comedies.” You said you want to do a traditional melodrama, but for the sake of your female fans, shouldn’t you do at least one more romantic comedy?

It’s not easy to come across such a great script and directorial staff like this. It is utmost important for a romantic comedy to have strong writing. Also, the main couple has to look cute together, and must not look pitiful.

Agreed! While we’re on this topic, please tell us something about your on-screen partner, Gong Hyo Jin.

She’s a charming actress. Very cute and lovable! She’s truly charming.

The Treasure Girls’ song “Dugeun Dugeun” became a hit, and it’s played everywhere. Does your heart really go “dugeun dugeun” (pit-a-pat) when you hear the song?

At first, I thought “Dugeun Dugeun” sounded cheesy. But not anymore. What is simple comes through to people much easily. Since it’s simple and nice, many people seem to like it. The easy way is the best way to go!

“Me, I’m Dok~go Jin~” It’s not an exaggeration that Dokgo Jin’s entire character is expressed in that one phrase. The intonation (of the speech) is very unusual. Was it created like that from the start?

No. “I’m Dok~go Jin~” came about after much practicing. It’s a product of hard work! Keke.

The drama ends this week. What is the first thing you want to do? Sleep, or perhaps travel?

I can’t do anything in September! I must participate in Yenny’s fall sports meet. I’m going to win first place no matter what. I must start practice running! Since I was busy and couldn’t go last year, my greatest priority is the fall sports meet. I WILL win first place!

I hear you daughter Yenny (9 years old) is very proud of her dad. You’re known as one of the “daughter fools” (dads who goo-ga over their daughters) in the showbiz industry.  You must be very happy.

Of course. I like it. Very very much. She likes it when I appear on TV, and she also likes it when her friends ask her, “I hear your dad is Dokgo Jin.” So I feel pleased.

It became known that it was you who suggested changing the name of the manager in the drama to Jaesuk, the actual name of your real-life manager. How would it have turned out if your manager played the role of the manager as well?

No! He can’t act and deliver his lines. We would have been in big trouble. Keke.

Many people are praising you that you’ve carried out your role perfectly, so as to confuse Dokgo Jin from Cha Seung Won. Are there any similarities between you two?

It’s probable that we have many similarities. Keke. While filming, I spent more time as Dokgo Jin than as Cha Seung Won. So it’s a mixture of 50:50.

You’ve received a lot of love through Best Love. Do you have any final words for the viewers and your fans?

Dear viewers and fans~ I’m so thankful for all your love. That love served as my vitamin so that I was able to do my best living as Dokgo Jin. Like the title itself, I’m so happy to receive your best love. Recharge! (Translator’s Note: For this answer, Cha Seung Won spoke in respectful/formal speech (hapsyoche level).)

Via me2day
Translated by Blue1004

This entry was posted in Interviews, K-celebrities and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Cha Seung Won’s me2day interview

  1. Sakki ^_^ says:

    wahhhh, thanks for the translation . . . CSW is sooooo Dokko Jin!!!!

  2. FaRicSyung* says:

    thanks a lot for this! he sounds like he’s having as much fun being Dokgo Jin as the drama audience. ^^

  3. nikesma says:

    Wah! Thank you so much, blue!! Wahh! *cough*I so want to see KHJ impersonating DKJ!*cough*

  4. martha says:

    Oh my thank you for this!! I just love him 🙂

  5. Gempak says:

    OMG!! Thank you!!
    He talked about KHJ!! LOL~ I’m so excited reading this interview. It’s not everyday your favorite actor and idol star talked about each other.
    You made my day today and I can’t stop that silly smile on my face…ekekeke~

  6. Eliza Bennet says:

    Thank you so much for this. He sounds really nice and grounded. Being a very accomplished actor I have confidence in him to be good in a melodrama – but to have a good comedic talent is not so common and I wish he’d make more comedies.

    • melusine says:

      Agreed! I’m happy for him that he successfully transitioned into a Serious, Respected Actor via Blood Rain, but I’ve really missed Goofy Cha Seung-won, the Early Years. He’s had this cool, dangerous image for a couple of years now, that it was nice to see him cut loose again. I’m sure he’d be good in melodramas (see Over the Border, My Son). But I wish he’d keep on showcasing his great comedic talent too. Like Eliza Bennet said, it’s more rare.

  7. Pingback: Best Love: Episode 15 – thundie's prattle

  8. jover10 says:

    he admitted himself 50:50 DKJ:CSW. I believe more. Thats why he will pull himself to do utmost of everything.
    For the sake of Yenny, “I will win first place”…. so cute!!!!

  9. demi says:

    Please….more romantic drama. It suits you well Seung Won shi.

  10. Qd says:

    Thank you soooooo much for the translation!!!!! Cant take you enough!!! Forever with you Cha Seung Won-shhi~~ Fighting~~~

  11. Qd says:

    take = thank ! opps!!! lol
    Just wanted to let all the Best Lovers know that a couple of us Dokkogirls got together to create the Best Love Dictionary blog made of the best moments, things, words and characters that made you go Dugeun-Dugeun throughout the series. It’s a labor of love and still a work in progress but we hope you will enjoy it as much as we enjoyed this drama.http://bestlovedictionary.wordpress.com/

  12. iamhere says:

    Thanks so much ! I love that he talks about his daughter. He just adores her.

  13. rence says:

    his best role so far..didnt imagine him to be soooo good in rom com…
    his role as DJ is perfect for him (just as GHJ is perfect as AJ)

    i will miss best love….DING DONG

  14. Kristal says:

    Cute. I wasn’t a fan before but will always remember Dokgo Jin fondly and hopefully CSW will bring us another great performance sometime soon. Thanks for the translation!

  15. antoniazc says:

    thank you so much for the translation!!!!! i was waiting to know what he said!!!! i’m 200% Dokko Girl!!! He’s so charming!!!
    and please as QD above said please visit us in http://bestlovedictionary.wordpress.com/
    Best Love Fighting

  16. Jomo says:

    He is right, though, about finding a team of writers who can pull off a rom-com. Think about all of the ones that have fallen apart as they went on.

    Someone said that melodrama doesn’t necessarily mean the same thing in the Kdrama world as it does in English. Doesn’t it mean “not a comedy.” We would call it a drama.

    I would love for him to do another story like CH – where there is a romance, but he was NOT involved in too much comedy. The CYHMH team, or the Twinkle Twinkle teams did great jobs with their scripts.

    I hope he stays away from the action type movies, but a thriller, a mystery or a revenge story would be cool.

    What about sageuk? Why not?

  17. Your drama introduced me to your work. I loved Greatest Love. It showed human frailties, hopes, fears, plots and intrigues, and satisfactions. This story was believable enough to make fantasy/romantic comedy work. Your acting shows maturity. thanks for sharing your art with such a broad world. You obviously have a lot going on under the surface. I especially appreciated how you showed the protection of loved ones. Blessings on you and your family. Inspiring!

  18. Lilian says:

    Recharge!!! He can really do all sorts of genres! Can’t wait to see what he chooses next…

  19. celest1al says:

    Please do a melodrama! He’s so good at angst.

  20. Dokgo Jin lover says:

    i love you Dokgo Jin.. cannot wait to see more you movie…. you are as sexy as you are with our without your mustache. i really hope to meet you face to face one day.. i am so proud to be your fan.. you are a great man/daddy / actor…

Leave a Reply

