Which drama would you like to see recapped here?

And so I am considering choosing one drama from the upcoming July/August batch to recap here. I admit I’ll make the final decision based on which drama ends up interesting me the most, but I also wanted to conduct a survey on which drama YOU would most like to see me recap in order to help me make my decision. So, here’s a chance for you to vote!

I tried recapping two episodes of 49 Days using the more “conventional” recap style (episodes 19 and 20), and found it to be an arduous task. But surprisingly, I found straight out dialogue translating (ex. Twinkle Twinkle) much easier, and well, fun to do. So keep in mind that that will likely be the format of the “recap.”

Happy voting!

This entry was posted in Drama Recaps, K-dramas and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Which drama would you like to see recapped here?

  1. martha says:

    Tough choice – whatever you choose I will follow along 😀

  2. Softy says:

    Yay my prayers have been answered – was hoping you would recap more after 49 days 🙂 thank goodness blue – I voted for warrior baek dong soo cuz I only understood one line of the trailer – everything else I was like ” what the crap did he just say?” – I was hopelessly lost. You are so good at sageuk dramas so I was crossing my fingers for a post like this – I thought I was seeing things for a minute there when I saw the post title – like it was a mirage or something. Can I please link your recaps on RS when you decide which show to recap 🙂

    • blue says:

      Hehe, of course! Although honestly, WBDS is one of the ones I’m less likely to recap… I saw the trailer too. The dialogues were really tough!

      • Softy says:

        Curious now- why is it less likely? Cuz I noticed it was like third on the poll. Oh man I am bummed – was really hoping to understand it cuz I don’t think DB will recap it either. Drats. Heartstrings starts in a day so when does this vote end and you decide? I am so eager to read your recaps *giddy softy hopping in line*

      • blue says:

        @Softy,
        It’s mostly for the same reasons mentioned by supah (see below). I wasn’t really interested in the drama from the get-go (although my interest spiked up again after reading the interview with the writer, and the trailers look pretty awesome), it’s slightly longer than the others (besides the weekend dramas), and the language is harder as a sageuk (and if I don’t end up liking it, I’ll be end up stuck with something that’s pretty hard to translate/recap). That said, if I end up liking it a lot and no other blogs recap it, then I’ll add it on as my second recap project.

        Btw, have you decided which dramas you’ll be live-recapping? If you know which ones you’ll be doing, I’ll try to avoid doing the same ones.

  3. doragon says:

    Scent of a woman or spy myung wol please!!
    If not

  4. kcomments says:

    Aww….love to vote! hehe.
    Something fun too discuss would be nice.
    ‘Hooray for Love’, cuz weekend drama rarely picked up by anyone and subs come out slower. Do you know how many episodes will there be? It’s not listed anywhere.
    Euh….Warrior Baek Dong-soo teaser looks dark and serious, I was hoping for Robin Hood Lite story but doesn’t look that way….

    • sandy says:

      I second that even though I am sure its not gonna happen

      • kcomments says:

        Let’s keep showing her our smiling faces, write cheesy comments and be really really nice gals, haha. *wink wink*

    • kcomments says:

      Hooray for Love Teaser
      (Replacing Can You Hear My Heart? on MBC)

      Got it finally from VIki, slated for 50 episodes (Ouch!) . Blue, I take my word back about recap, you’ll end up writing a book ^_^ Hope it’s not good otherwise I’ll stuck with MBC till Jan, next year.

      The Princess’s Man Teaser
      (Replacing Romance Town on KBS)

      Credit to all YT uploader.

  5. missjb says:

    princess man please, hehehhee……

  6. Melissa says:

    i voted for WBDS…but it really doesn’t matter which one. i couldn’t make up my mind!

  7. Kristal Russell says:

    I’m going with the spy show!

  8. SparkledPink says:

    The Princess’s Man or Scent of a Woman.

    Heartstrings and Myung Wol the Spy will probably be recapped by DB.

  9. Kristal Russell says:

    BTW, is Protect the Boss a TERRIBLE drama title to anyone else??

    • blue says:

      Yeah, the title doesn’t translate too well in English, but I think the title (“보스를 지켜라”) really works much better in Korean. The Korean title makes it clear that the phrase is in a imperative/command format, so it actually sounds like a fighting call, “Let’s protect the boss at all cost! March on!” (Okay, I added the extra words, but I just wanted to convey the kind of “feel” the original title has that gets lost in the translation.)

      • Kristal Russell says:

        The English titles seem to always be a little off but if you put it in that tone yes it seems A LOT better and funnier cause I can picture all the office hijinks that are probably going to occur. It is supposed to be a rom-com, right? I think I will watch just to see Ji Sung in a comedy. I don’t have very high hopes for it but you never know.

        Scent of a Woman is another bad title (in English at least). It just makes me think of that Al Pacino movie and I have no idea how it ties into the theme/story of the drama. Is Kim Sun-ah going to have body odor issues or something? *chuckles at her own lame joke*

        And I don’t know why I am going on and on about titles here, but whatever. 🙂

    • kcomments says:

      Yeah, ” Let’s protect the boss! ” would be better.
      @Kristal, you are not the only one about the Kdrama English title, I just swallowed it up all this time hoping someday the sun will shine brightly, LOL.

  10. watchumlots says:

    Please do one the other sites aren’t doing.

    It is difficult to choose at this point, how to know which will be a ‘stinker?’ Thought Lie to Me would be good: it sucked. Thought Marry Me Mary would be good: it sucked. Thought Best Love might only suck a little: it does.

    Appreciate any and all of your efforts! And a big shouty THANK YOU for asking!!!

  11. D says:

    hmmmmmmm….I honestly dont know, so whatever you choose will be great especially since you are the one that will have to watch and spend time on it…..it would be great if its a drama that not many people are recapping though…..thank you and good luck!!!

  12. supah says:

    Yeah, I’m kinda with softy, with Warrior Baek Dong-soo, but a) you didn’t seem highly interested from the get-go b) it’s not very accessible in terms of its more ambitious format (and the sageuk language) c) if it turns out bad, you’ll be saddled with it for longer, I’m sure it’s slated for 24 episodes, or 30…
    Either way, I’m happy with whatever you recap, love your insight and way of writing.

    And…OMG! There’s a trailer? Where? Where?

    • kcomments says:

      Warrior Baek Dong-soo Teaser (there are more on YT, but this is the one I like ^^)

      Credits: YT uploader

      • supah says:

        Wow, very Yacha-like. Good that it’s going to be on the darker, maturer end of the spectrum. But… that also makes me hope the writing will deliver and that the main PD will deliver the substance because otherwise looks-wise it’s AMAZEBALLS. Can’t get enough of the second trailer. Too excited.

  13. nikesma says:

    Hmmm… Maybe you can write first impressions of the dramas that you watch? Cuz I don’t know why but I’m so skeptical these days. Was anticipating LTM so much before, and it’s actually a good ground and concept but somehow executed … not well. And the dramas that are not highly anticipated is really good. Lol. So, yeah. Have to decide after at least watch 1-2 episodes of them. But I’d really appreciate if the drama that you recap isn’t recapped anywhere. I’m sure someone else will pick up Scent of a Woman, the Spy and Heartstrings. But if you really like them, then it’s good to have more insights to the story cuz I really like reading them ^^

  14. Softy says:

    Hey blue, I was gonna say the same thing to you 🙂 I wasn’t planning to do live anything you chose to recap. Heehee. Right now I have no idea which ones I want to do cuz I just wanna sleep early for a change. If a new one turns out to be REALLY good then I might change my mind, but for now I am just gonna watch the first eps and maybe write a summary or two. Really curious what your top 3 contenders are. Do you know yet?

    • blue says:

      No!!!! Don’t wait for me to decide! All your readers are going to shoot angry side-glances at me! (I’m scared…)

      I’m conflicted. None of the people who commented here mentioned Heartstrings, but it’s still leading the poll. I do suspect that many other blogs will be recapping Heartstrings though, so unless the first episode blows me away and I fall in love with it, I’ll let it pass and just choose between the three that had the next highest votes: Myungwol the Spy, Scent of a Woman, or Princess’s Man. And later on, if I end up falling in love with any of the dramas that I did not choose, I’ll just add that as my 2nd recapping project if time permits.

      Of course, since WBDS premieres before these three, if it manages to win my heart first, then the other three may not stand a chance even before they see the light of day.

      • Melissa says:

        i agree…can u plz recap a drama that is not as popular w/ the bloggers?

      • Softy says:

        Silly blue – who would dare throw you angry glaces 🙂 only reason why i am waiting to see what you do is cuz i know your recaps are going to be 100% accurate and well written so i am looking forward to reading them. There is no way I am picking up a drama you cover cuz I am nowhere close to your league. (I might end up eating these words later but there is no way I would have voted for princess man cuz the cover poster alone had me ROFL cuz of the cheese factor shooting up when i saw his long hair and the lovesick expression on his face – i just cant take that drama seriously for some reason.) So there is some hope after all for my sageuk choice- yay 🙂 I am keepin’ my fingers crossed that WBDS delivers cuz I was afraid it wouldn’t stand a chance against your 3 choices – one of those will be good for sure. guess it comes down to Mon to see if you like it or not. Thanks blue 🙂

  15. doozy says:

    Scent of a Woman! Come on, it’s Wookie’s come-back project! 🙂

  16. msclockwatcher says:

    Definitely go with what interests you the most. Even though I am very new at this, there’s a huge difference between recapping what you love and what is just okay… or worse, boring. I say, give them all a try and recap the one you love most. Or maybe the second most if everyone and their mama happens to be recapping the one you really like.

    Of course, the risk that the drama you like ends up sucking half way through exists but such is life.

  17. lei2010 says:

    as what others used to tell, recap the one/s that sparked ur interest to the highest level (bec. im sure its going to be a good drama). excited for the new dramas this july, though i’m getting behind with some dramas, i’ll just marathon it by sunday to get me updated…

    worked is so stressfull, i need a drama that’s freaking hilarious this july…

  18. Star says:

    O0O0oo I love your recape for you’ve fallen for me ! I read recapes on other sites but this one is best hope you keep this One ,,thank you!

  19. chewyish says:

    voted for you’ve fallen for me.
    i really love this type of slice of life campus drama so i’m really hoping you’ll recap it.

  20. silvermine says:

    Protect your boss seems fun – & I’d like see the cast at play….

Leave a Reply

