Help us come up with a new name!

Electric Ground has made a home here for about eight months, but lately, we’ve been entertaining the idea of giving it its own domain name instead of the blue1004.wordpress.com it’s been using. That was a name Blue came up with late at night without really having given much thought to it… at all.

Unfortunately, electricground.com is already taken and not available. And so, we need your help! Can you please help us come up with a new domain name for this site?

Here are some possible nominees. Please let us know what you think of them, or if you have any other cool-sounding names you’d like to share with us!

**********

1. bbelectricground.com
Pros: It’s close to the original name of the blog, and we’d be able to keep the current name, Electric Ground.
Cons: By including our initials in its name, it’d limit ourselves in case we want to open it up to other bloggers in the future.

2. electricdramaground.com
Pros: It’s close to the original name of the blog, and we’d be able to keep the current name, Electric Ground.
Cons: Rather long. And what the heck is “electric drama ground”? (But then again, what the heck was “electric ground”?)

3. eclecticground.com (possible other variations: eclecticzone.comeclectickorea.com or eclectickoreans.com)
Pros: Considering how we blog about everything and anything that interest us, including dramas, music, fashion, language and culture, and travel, we thought it was a good name representing what this blog is about. And Blue likes the word “eclectic.”
Cons: I don’t know. You tell us.

4. dramanerds.com
Pros: Because we’re nerds. Who blog about dramas. The name is easy to remember and it flows well.
Cons: “kdramanerds.com” is already registered.

5. dramageeks.com (possible other variations: kdramageeks.com)
Pros: Because we’re geeks. Who blog about dramas. The name is easy to remember and it flows well.
Cons: Do we want to be called geeks? Hmm….

Others that we thought of include “dramajjang.com” and “dramazzang.com.”

We’re not really committed to keeping our name Electric Ground. But whatever new name we decide on, we hope it’ll be a permanent one. So yes, please, please vote and share your thoughts, including what you like or don’t like about a certain name. And if you won’t mind sharing your own ideas, we’d be so grateful as well! Thank you!

This entry was posted in Blog News. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Help us come up with a new name!

  1. vicka says:

    Personally I love your name electric ground, even though you speak of kdrama and kculture, I love it because I feel that you are the connection with earth: you avoid us (readers) to go in short circuit…. you are a reference point. And I love it. My suggestion is a longer one: bluelectricground.com… blue electricity is a clean form of energy… I know, I know… it has nothing to do with drama or culture… it’s kind of a metaphor… but its a image that I love blue energy, and culture for me means energy too… Anyway the second good option is eclecticground… I really like it…. Whatever you do, I will visit you for sure as I’ve been doing for the last six months…

    • blue says:

      Ahh, thanks so much for sharing your thoughts!! That’s such a cool interpretation of the name electric ground!

      • vicka says:

        Thank you for doing this blog. I know what it means to keep a blog alive, and it’s a lot of work. I think you and Bella do a great job, because you talk about culture, language, traditions, etc. I really love the Kdrama and Kculture blogs, each site is unique and it’s a pleasure to read each blogger and the people that writes comments. Like I say each site is unique: Dramabeans is an beautiful exercise of literature (damn each recap that I’ve read is brilliantly written!!!), Thundie’s blog is a great place for reflecting on drama, art, even feelings… Dahee is an impressive writer!!!! (I would like to published a book of her reviews!!!)… Koala’s playground is a gratified place for letting out your ideas about what is romance and love. And you, you have been my kculture teachers, the ones that fairly and simply explain me not only a kdrama but the background of it … I just enjoy your posts…

    • Beng-beng says:

      Oh i was gonna suggest adding the Blue too because i think “Blue” is a good word. I think the electricblue.com or electricblueground sounds nice too. Or what Vicka is suggesting blueelectricground.com or blueselectricground.com

      • imud says:

        Yeah, I am with this! ElectricBlue sounds great. Or how about; blueground, kblues, dramablues, etc, just please put blue in it, coz i think it’s easier for readers, to refer the new name with the old one.

    • bella012 says:

      I love your metaphor and thank you very much for your lovely thoughts!

    • mrmz says:

      I really like the name and your interpretation to it

  2. iviih says:

    I liked the idea eclecticground.com or eclectickorea.com ^^

    I don’t know, I think it suit you, also is a easy name to remind ^^.

    And like you said putting your names on the name makes it hard for you in case you want to open it up to other bloggers in the futureit’d limit ourselves in case we want to open it up to other bloggers in the future.

    Well, but I do like dramanerds too… .

    ohhh better stop, I’m not helping like this lol~

    • iviih says:

      Ohh sorry … what i wanted to post:

      I liked the idea eclecticground.com or eclectickorea.com ^^

      I don’t know, I think it suit you, also is a easy name to remind ^^.

      And like you said putting your names on the name makes it hard for you in case you want to open it up to other bloggers in the future.

      Well, but I do like dramanerds too… .

      ohhh better stop, I’m not helping like this lol~

  3. martha says:

    Wow, well said! Bluelectricground is really good.

  4. Lizzie says:

    Hum, how about kdramainsights.com? (but since you talk about a lot of things besides kdramas..), how about koreainsight? Koreainsights?

  5. It’s difficult to chose a good domainname. It must be easy to remember AND to TYPE.
    I find it difficult to remember eclecticground.com or the other suggestion because it’s hard to imagine how even to spell out and you often mess up with the word ELECTRIC.

    If you want to keep a certain colour theme, you can always make a blue layout. I personally like your blog because it DOESN’t make clear that it’s about k-drama and I found it refreshing that there’s more to read about than just about k-dramas. So I’d choose a domainname which represents you and is also kind of metaphorical.

    My suggestion were like: blueselectricground.com (coz you want to keep the electricity here ^.~), or electricgroundblue (like a coded title: Electric Ground BLUE)

    dramanerds or dramageeks doesn’t sound good for my taste unless you’re really are geeks. But it somehows sounds derogative due to the chlischée of a nerd (Jung-hee! *g*). Your blog is far more cooler than you’d expect. So better don’t choose something which has a negative sound.

    Another suggestion, the domainname can also be a short cut of the blog title. You also could choose EGBlue.com. Or if you like Electric & Eclectric, why not short cut: EEGround(Blue).com with the Title Electric eclectric ground (Blue)
    The most important thing is that it’s easy to type. ^^

  6. thundie says:

    I voted for dramajjang.com. 😀

  7. missjb says:

    I vote eLground.com 🙂

  8. blue says:

    So many good suggestions and advice! Oh, the dilemma! There are even more things to take into consideration now. Hehe, keep them coming! Thanks, everyone!

  9. mim says:

    If you guys like electric ground, why not try electricground.net or electricground.us (I know it’s United States, but it’s kind of “us” too, which works for a multi-contributor blog)?
    Otherwise, dramajjang is good too. And I also like the word eclectic.
    I think I like the geek and nerd names less. Not cos there isn’t a certain cool-ness to being geeks and nerds nowadays but… I dunno. Not too helpful, eh? 🙂

  10. Random_heights says:

    How about eclectricground (eclectic/electric)? Blend the old with the new. 🙂

  11. WordDoodle says:

    Just thinking aloud here:
    CueKorean? EclecticKulture? CuturalBlue? Age of K? SimplyK? KoreaCasting? Drama Karma? K-Musings?
    Really cheesy actually, but just in fun.

  12. Eliza Bennet says:

    electricdramaground sounds good to me – maintaining brand recognition and adding the subject of the blog – maybe electrickdramaground woul dalso do.

  13. kcomments says:

    I did try, sorry all I could think of is R2D2 from Star Wars ^_^ A short one would be nice.

  14. REBEL SOULS says:

    hey B & B, I like all the suggestions too but I say go for something shorter or something that rolls off the tongue- try saying it like 5 times in a row and if it sounds smooth go with it – like blue-electric or ground blue (sort of sounds like a disaster zone but still sounds good cuz you cover korean stuff on your blog so that’s why it’s groundblue) or go even shorter blueground.
    I really like electric better than eclectic cuz electric makes me picture something giving out vibes which your posts do but eclectic just doesnt fit as well and there is too much “c” so it sounds like you are choking when you say it fast.
    also love what vicka suggested – bluelectricground or beng beng’s electricblue. sorry if they are bad- I gave it a shot anyway 🙂

    • Laica says:

      I agree, although I like eclecticground it’s a little hard to say and spell, and a domain name should be as short and easy as possible, while still being catchy. I like your suggestions, Softy.

  15. ockoala says:

    I like belectricground.com

    You just need one B, instead of BB, since both of your monikers start with B anyways. Also it can be read as a shortened version of “be electric” ground.

    I don’t like the dramas in the name since you two discuss so much more than that. I think no matter what you need to keep electric because that just encapsulates both of your writing styles and mood here. 😀

    Good look picking a name, ladies~

  16. martha says:

    So many great suggestions! Good luck picking one 🙂

  17. nonski says:

    ummm… i dunno if this had been suggested but i like the sound of Electric Blue.

    kinda still associated with you, Blue and the Electric Ground. It’s also short and well, sounds nice, hehehe. (for me 🙂 )

  18. supah says:

    Aw, I’m late but I’m gutted ‘electricground’ was taken, it really couldn’t have gotten any better than that, and I get people on ‘blueelectricground’ being too long.
    I dunno, parang.com, lesbleus.com…? *shrugs*

  19. URL says:

    Dramaticblue.com

  20. doozy says:

    I like electricblue! 🙂

Leave a Reply

